Where Was I?

Well, like a new year’s resolutionist who had big plans to get in shape, I seem to have fallen off the wagon. Well, I am back and still on the first year of a ten year reading list. I have been moving pretty slow, but I am excited to get into the second half of the first year, especially in an election year.

Works coming up include The Declaration of Independence, The Constitution of The United States, and The Federalist. As everyone evokes the founding fathers to justify their own positions, it is a good time to re-read things for myself and figure out what those founding fathers really said.

In addition, Locke’s Concerning Civil Government and Rousseau’s The Social Contract are on the list. I am particularly interested in the Rousseau essay and may change the order of reading. As we debate the role of government in our lives, I think that we need to be mindful of whether a social contract exists between people and how can it be enforced.

For now, though, I am going to try to finish Montaigne. The next essays are:

That It Is Folly to Measure and Error By Our Own Capacity
Of Cannibals
That the Relish of Good and Evil Depends in Great Measure upon the Opinion We Have of Them
Upon Some Verses of Virgil

In these readings, I may switch versions just to make it easier on my eyes and speed up the process. I have a Franklin Mint Edition of Montaigne that will be an easier read, though perhaps a different translator. Still, after reading Alex Beam’s book, I feel less sheepish about going outside the set, since the layout of the books is a little tough and chosen to save on production costs.

I think about the volume design and ease of reading these books because it is important. As we move into a world where real books face competition from electronic facsimiles, the medium becomes important in delivering the message. Marshall McLuhan’s thinking about these issues is as relevant as ever.

So, as we move forward, let’s try to discuss format as well as content. All the same, I will get back to Montaigne shortly.

Thank for your patience, readers.

Leave a Reply

