Read Faster! Why I Am So Slow, and A Promise to Update More Frequently

Well, I can’t imagine that there are any regular readers of this blog, though I am happy a few folks have stopped by and been engaged.

 I have been very slow to update it. In part, this is because I have been very slow about reading the books and writing timely posts. I am working to get back on track though. I don’t know if it is possible, but I would like to try to finish the first year of reading by the end of this calendar year.

 That is kind of a tall order, so I had better get cracking.

 What I have learned so far is that finding time to read in modern life can be difficult, especially with so many opportunities, messages, and interests competing for our attention. While I should have plenty of time because I do not have a 9-to5 job, I find most of my time is being spent hustling up work or entertaining myself in other ways.

 So, here is my pledge to you all. I will read faster and post more often on this blog. I will focus on the Britannica Great Books set, but will occasionally let some other things sneak onto the pages.

Welcome to the jumpstarted conversation. Here’s to good reading and good talking ahead.

Next Time — Plato’s Republic: Starting With a Nod to the Skeptics

One thought on “Read Faster! Why I Am So Slow, and A Promise to Update More Frequently

Leave a Reply

